President Weah Names Nine-Member Committee; Mandates Review of All Agreements, Contracts with Concessionaires…

Liberian President George M. Weah has constituted a Nine-member Special Review Committee to evaluate all concessions/management and other Agreements including contracts entered into by and between the Government of Liberia and Concessionaires and/or Contractors.

 According to an Executive Mansion release, the President formed the committee on Wednesday, February 14, 2018 and mandated it to review and ensure that all contracts entered into by the Government of Liberia and Concessionaires are executed according to agreed principles in accordance with the Laws of Liberia.
 President Weah further mandated the committee to ascertain and ensure that all contracts meet the legal requirements of the laws of Liberia and are fully implemented. The Liberian leader also instructed the committee to ensure that during its investigation, the Concessionaires and the Republic of Liberia are in good standing with all current performance under the Terms and Conditions of the concession, management and other agreements/contracts signed. President Weah then wants the committee to recommend where there are issues.
 Those named on the committee include:
Hon. Archie Bernard, Legal Advisor to the President – Chairman 
Cllr. T, Negbalee Warner        – Co-Chair
Hon. Charles Bright                – Economic Advisor to the President – Member
Cllr. Necular Y. Edwards       -Member
Cllr. Bendu E. Clark               – Member
Cllr. Juah Nancy Cassell         – Member
Cllr. Jallah Barbu                    – Member
Cllr. Teplah Reeves                 – Member

 President Weah has however directed all government agencies, public institutions, commissions and state-owned enterprises to fully cooperate with the committee to facilitate its smooth operations.
The Co-Chair of the Committee is a former Head of Secretariat of the Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative. Back to home page